You now know why I've started this new journey (If you haven't, start reading by clicking here), but how will I reach my destination? I know myself. I know I always try to make every task as fast and efficient as possible - and that will include shortcuts, if need be. But with this, if I take shortcuts, I'll never reach my goal. In order to stay on track, I have installed several guardrails to keep me in the right direction:
1. Accountability Partner - K is on this journey with me. She has her own story and her own reason as to why she is doing this. Although it's different from mine, we have a similar goal in mind. If I have someone there to workout with, to ask me how everything is going, to be a sounding board when I need someone to listen, it makes this all less daunting (and I am the same for her, as well). I have someone to celebrate victories with, to feel frustration with when things don't go as expected, and to suffer with when J gives us REALLY difficult workout homework for the week (flights of stairs are the devil. They may be incredibly effective, but I'm pretty convinced they are the creation of satan himself...especially 86 flights). I can absolutely guarantee you that I wouldn't have the current weight loss I have had without K being there. Personally, I can't be accountable to myself. I need someone to get me back into gear and back on the right track when I want to stray. I have texted her at night asking her to tell me to put the box of girl scout cookies down and walk away from them. She has walked up stairs with me as I sob like a baby to make sure I finish. It happens. And I really appreciate having her there as support and for being a great friend. Even if neither of us want to lift weights one day, or if we just want to do 3 rounds of a circuit rather than the 4 J tells us to do, we push each other to continue and accomplish everything we need to. Not once have I ever said I regret doing that extra set of crunches, or cranking out 10 extra minutes of cardio. But if K weren't there, I wouldn't have done those extra 10 minutes or those 20 extra crunches.
2. Personal Trainer - J has done wonders. He's probably going to have a HUGE ego by the time he's done with me because I keep telling him how awesome he is and how much I appreciate him. Sure, I'll climb the stairs and curse him out occasionally (like the other day), but he has trained enough people that he's probably used to it and knows to not take it personally. As I wrote previously, I didn't know the first thing about working out 6 weeks ago (I still don't know much, but I'm learning). Not only does J get my butt into gear, he also teaches the proper form and technique and makes sure K and I know how to do everything correctly so we don't hurt ourselves throughout the week (J also has his own blog that you can read HERE. He has a lot of insight. I highly recommend it). I appreciate the fact that every week is different. He changes things up so we don't get bored. Each session gets harder and harder. In 6 short weeks, he now has me JOGGING (sure, people can walk faster than the pace in which I can jog, and it doesn't last all that long, but I'm doing it and I can't do anything else but improve). Two months ago, I never imagined I would be jogging...on the street....in public. But it happened. Never did I think I would be working out 6 (sometimes 7) days per week and not feel so sore I couldn't move. Never did I think I would walk over 6.5 miles in under an hour and a half. Never did I think I could accomplish what I have accomplished in these 6 short weeks. Never did I think I would feel proud of myself for what I've done. I know this is just the beginning and I'm excited to see what is in store for the future and what J will push me to do.
Having a personal trainer is one of the greatest investments I have ever made. And he's really not expensive. You can find a good one at a decent price (I feel like I'm talking about buying a lamp or a bottle of wine. Sorry J! You're not a lamp!). Plus, if I'm paying for a trainer, I want my money's worth. So, that keeps me more accountable. My only advice to you is to make sure you find the right one. Some trainers aren't good for certain people. It happens sometimes. I chose and kept J for several reasons.
First, he's incredibly kind-hearted. With that, J has an extraordinary amount of patience and grace. I need that. I can't just be yelled at by some Jillian Michaels wannabe and told I'm the scum of the earth if I don't run 1 more mile and vomit mid sprint...I would completely shut down and quit immediately. I was talking to a friend last week who said to me, "I saw your trainer...he looks TERRIFYING." I couldn't help but laugh. Yes, J is full of muscles and tattoos, but I explained to my friend that he is a gentle giant; He may look intimidating, but he's got one of the biggest hearts I've seen, and kicks my ass with kindness and in a soft spoken manner that makes me not mind doing it...yet I get done with our session and think, "Wait. I actually did all of that?" It's a gift.
Second, he's been through what I'm going through. J has his own story. He lost a significant amount of weight himself. He has a success story. Being in the current situation I am in, I need someone to relate to. He knows what is more harmful than good for me currently and is able to push me and give a really hard workout without causing injury. If I had some skinny minnie, always been thin, just likes to work out a lot type of trainer, that person couldn't relate (or, at least I couldn't relate to them) and there would be a disconnect. Because of that disconnect, I wouldn't get everything out of those workout sessions that I needed to.
Third, he gives homework. I need homework. And it's not just 'work on cardio this week' type of vague homework. It's an email full of 'do the following circuits with 20 minutes of cardio, then the next day go to yoga, walk X amount of miles and keep it under X amount of time, do X sets of stairs.' That is the best thing K likes about J, too. K has gone through her share of trainers and J is the first one that gives specific homework. And, not only does he give the homework, he then checks in through the week to see how we're doing. I really appreciate that. It's just more accountability...and I need all the accountability I can get.
And fourth (and the most odd reason, so hear me out on this one), J is male. Because of my past and distrust in men, I knew that I needed a male trainer to help me in my emotional healing, too. He probably doesn't even realize it, and that's ok. It's for myself. I'm learning that not all men are out there to hurt me and victimize me. Some really are there to help. Some are kind. Some are genuine. I'm still learning to view him as male. It's a process and can be a very emotional battle for me sometimes. There have been times when I've felt like I was getting defensive or shutting down. I can't let that happen. I will know when I am making progress, when my views begin to change. And, once I'm healthy again and able to start dating again, it will help me not make such poor decisions as I have in the past (really poor decisions. Terrible ones that you'd think I would've learned from...then went and made that same poor choice again). And I may not be explaining this last point correctly, so I sincerely apoligize if it doesn't make sense or if this is taken the wrong way.
What I'm trying to say is, get a trainer and make sure you find the right trainer for YOU. That's the most important part.
3. Journal - I've mentioned this in a previous post. I bought a journal. Everyday I write three things in it: food, workout, feelings.
I count calories. Anything that goes in my mouth gets written down. I have a calorie counting app on my phone to figure everything out. I plan out my meals every week to make sure the calories are within my allowance. Plus, if I have to write all my food down, it's easier to pass on food that is terrible for me. I have a specific amount of calories I can consume during the day...I don't want to waste 250 of them on some cookies or ice cream. It puts food into perspective and makes me more aware of what I'm eating and how much of it I'm consuming.
Every workout goes into the journal, too. Not only so I can remember what workout I did on what days, but also so I can look back and see the progress I've made. It's good to look at the first week and remember how hard it felt and compare it to what I'm doing now. Also, there are certain tasks J gives K and me that are timed (like stairs and walking and whatnot), so I write down the results of those...distance, time taken. Again, it's a good way to look back and check on the progress I'm making.
Feelings. Things piss me off sometimes. Things make me sad. Things make me happy. I have to get them out of me somehow so they don't fester and so I don't self-destruct. So I write them down. It makes me feel better by getting my thoughts and feelings down on paper, and I can then look back on them to also see what kind of progress I'm making in the emotion realm of my transformation.
4. Writing Down Goals - When K and I started with J, he gave us a sheet to fill out. I had to list 3 physical goals I want to reach, 3 achievement goals, and ways to achieve those goals. Filling that sheet out was one of the most difficult things I had to do. It took over a week, I think. Once I filled the sheet out, I had to make 4 copies. One copy J keeps, one copy stays in my purse, one on the fridge and one in my bedroom. That way, I can always see my goals and keep them at the forefront of my mind so I can continue to work on achieving them and never lose sight of them.
I also am working on a list of 50 life goals I would like to achieve. Once I have 50 listed, I have to separate them out in certain lists of how quickly I want to achieve them. Again, writing it all down makes me feel like the goals I want to achieve are set in stone and will give me more accountability to reach them (there's that word again! I cannot get enough accountability, apparently)
5. Rewarding Myself - K and I set up a reward system. Every certain amount of pounds lost, we give ourselves a reward. The more pounds lost, the bigger the rewards. They start off small, like going to the movies or a pair of shoes. Some are practical, like a new outfit (once my pants start falling down...which is getting close). But most are just things we really want to do, so we can work harder to reach that weight loss goal so we can cash in those rewards. The big goals, like 50 pounds, 75 pounds, etc, are the ones I'm most excited about. I had to make sure I put the best rewards on those weight goals. If I don't have these rewards, I don't think I would try as hard. It's like a carrot dangling in front of a horse...it'll make 'em move faster to try to get that carrot. If I really want a new purse, I need to get my butt in gear and drop another 4 pounds so I can get one. If I didn't reach that goal yet, no purse for me yet. It's as simple as that. K has been struggling with that concept, but I think she's starting to get it. We'll see.





