This week has been a busy one. Weigh-in day was on the 4th of July and since then I haven’t been on here to post anything new. This past week was not great, I’ll admit. I’m down only 0.2 pounds (I’m just calling it a wash) for the week and I didn’t feel like I did the best I could’ve done, as far as workouts go. The shiny newness has started to wear and it has become more and more difficult to get the motivation to go the gym by myself and get some circuits in. Don't get me wrong, I'm still working out and I haven’t skipped any workouts, which is good. I have been working out every day, but I feel as though the workouts haven’t been up to par. I really need to give myself a kick in the butt and get back to the weight training days (aka, like 6 weeks ago) of dripping sweat and laying on the floor of the gym, trying to regain a normal breathing pattern and questioning whether I would be able to stand up on my own ever again.
Thursday was the 4th of July and I was able to get a training session in with J in the morning. We went to the scenic Squires Castle for our session. It was a very nice change of scenery (I would’ve taken a picture or something but, as I said in my last post, I am NOT a morning person and was a little angry having to wake up early on a day off of work and be around a...morning person…). I warmed up to the experience once we got going, though. And I did not injure J out of morning anger, so that’s something. He really kicked my butt this past week, though. Seriously. It’s now Monday and I am STILL sore. I felt the workout by Thursday afternoon. By Friday, I was thankful that all I had to do at work was sit in a chair and not move. Saturday, it was a slow day of walking and only doing upper body weights. It was a good training session, though. I like kettle bells. They’re kind of fun.
Monday, July 8, 2013
Priorities and Balance (and a late Week 15 Wrap Up)
A couple weeks ago, K and I were training with J and I said something about needing to get a life again and that, if I don't, I'm going to start resenting working out. For the past 3+ months, I have put everything on hold so I could get into a workout routine and cooking dinner at home on a regular basis. I don’t want to start resenting working out. I don't want to feel like bettering myself has taken away my social life. But something has to change because it's starting to feel that way. I'm not the type of person who is content with living life in an office or a gym. I need to get out and live a little. I need to somehow figure out a way to have a balanced life and still keep a workout routine (I know if I don’t have that workout routine, I won’t stick to it). Other people are able to do it….so why am I having so much difficulty?
This week, I attempted a balance….attempted. This weekend and last weekend, I went out and ended up doing about 6 weekends worth of events in 4 days. While doing all of that, I also worked out each day (but not to my full potential) and ran whatever errands I had to run. But, I didn’t cook (except last night, where I did cook dinner but didn’t have time to actually eat any of it). I lost the balance that I attempted to have. I think I was too eager to get out of the house and ended up doing too much. Now, I feel like I need a weekend to relax from this past weekend.
While reflecting on the past week and the past 3+ months of this new journey, I’m seeing that I need to have priorities and learn to balance them. The past 3 months, I have gone to work, gotten home, worked out, made dinner, then it was time for bed. My only priority was working out. While it is a priority I need to have, I made no time for anything else. That’s no life. I tried to have a social life and went overboard and put some other “priorities” on the back burner. I’m still trying to figure out how to say ‘yes’ to the things I need to say yes to and ‘no’ to the things I need to say no to. I need to figure out what the most important things are that I need to do in life and put them in order. Everything else, while I may want it, I need to stay disciplined enough to say ‘no’ and stay committed to the path I chose to start taking 3 months ago. I need to learn to balance my time between work and play and start to make ‘play’ another priority (so I don’t go crazy, become a shut-in, and end up resenting exercise), but it can’t be more important than eating healthy and working out. Maybe I will need to limit myself to one event per weekend….rather than the 4 or 5 that happened the past couple weeks.
Even with all of this, I also will be starting a new chapter of my life in a few weeks. While it will free up some of my time, it will also be adding a whole new responsibility and I know that, in order to succeed, I will need to make this new step a priority. This whole changing my life thing feels like just a bunch of trial and errors; figuring out what needs to be the main focus, what needs to be completely discarded from life, what needs to be added, what needs to hibernate for a little while in order to re-emerge better when the time is right. I’m still trying to figure it all out. Maybe if I physically make a list of priorities and put them in order, it will help. And if anyone has any ideas that can help, I am more than willing to hear them.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

No comments:
Post a Comment