Wednesday, July 31, 2013

Week 19 and Accomplishing Goals

Well....Put-in-Bay happened. I didn't do nearly as well as I thought I would have. But, it happened. And honestly, I don't really feel bad about it. I truly relaxed this weekend with no regrets. So, while I didn't make the healthiest choices and indulged in a few cookies and smores, I did watch portion sizes (for the most part). I had every intention of working out, and my friend and I did yoga at about 5:00 in the morning on Friday, but the mornings of the rest of the weekend were too rainy and windy to walk/jog or safely swim. I did get back to normal on Monday and yesterday with yoga again, and back to healthy eating habits again. It was just really nice to get away for a few days and not think about anything or have a care in the world. I really cherished this weekend :)

Weigh-in: I'm doing training today (I'll explain why a couple paragraphs down) so I decided to weigh in today. Honestly, I was really mentally preparing myself for a gain...like, a significant gain after this past weekend. But guess what. Down 1 pound! Hahahaha! I don't really understand why...but I won't question! So, that's a total loss so far of 51.6 pounds :)

On Monday, I had the follow up doctors appointment with that doctor I saw several weeks ago that deals with hormones and "prescribes" all natural supplements instead of medication. She seemed surprised as she read my blood results to me. Good news is I am healthy :) Blood pressure, thyroid, cholesterol, sodium, blood sugar, liver function...it's all good. Everything is within normal range and working the way it should, except one thing. One hormone, Pregnenolone, is low (actually, a lot low. The normal range for this hormone is between 18 and 36, the lowest the test reads is 5 and my level was apparently under 5 because it wasn't able to even be read). Pregnenolone is known as the grandparent precursor to steroid hormones in mammals. It comes from cholesterol in the mitochondria of the adrenal glands and the central nervous system, and the body uses it to produce DHEA, progesterone, testosterone and estrogen. So, if you have a low level of Pregnenolone, it can have an effect on cognitive functioning (poor memory...which would totally explain a lot), how you react to stress, mood patterns, sleep patterns, and could also increase arthritic inflammation...if you have arthritis. I was also reading more about it and found that, if this hormone is taken, it can help in the healing of spinal cord injuries, overcoming chemical dependencies, and treating mental health disorders like phobias and schizophrenia...which I find very interesting that the body can produce something so powerful that is natural, yet society has taught us that we should rely on chemical prescription drugs instead. But I won't get into that right now. So, the doctor advised I take a natural supplement of Pregnenolone. We'll see if my memory improves! It was nice to learn that any standard health issue an obese person could have (high blood pressure, cholesterol issues, diabetic issues, etc) I am clear of. It was a little bit of a stress relief to know my body is functioning well :)


I think I've discussed this before, but I have goals. Like, written down that I carry with me. 50 of them. When first starting training with J, he has everyone fill out a goal sheet....3 physical goals and 3 acheivement goals. I filled that out within a week of starting and then J keeps a copy, a copy stays in my purse, and a copy stays in my house. Later on, he then brought up Jim Rohn, saying we should have a list of 50 goals. Just the 50 that you first think of...not picking and choosing goals, just writing all of them down. It took me a couple weeks to come up with 50, but I got my list. Once that list has been created, then break the goals down to whether you want to acheive them in 1 year, 3 years, 5 years or 10 years and then choose the top 5 goals for each. It was nice to read those goal lists and see where I think I currently am in my life and where I want to see myself 5 and 10 years from now. Most of my goals are travel oriented. I have some physical goals on there, career goals, personal goals, get married and have a baby...you know, the usual. I also had one on there that I've had for almost 10 years now. I will preface this with a story.

My first job was as a receptionist in a fitness center when I was 16. It was a pretty low key job, just sitting at a front desk making sure members swiped their membership cards, doing school work, and cleaning the bathrooms and windows. I ended up getting to know a couple trainers that had clients and classes there. Most of their clients were these big muscled men that looked like they've been working out 6 hours per day, 7 days per week for 25 years and could bench about 700lbs without batting an eye. But one of the trainers would always take his clients outside to the parking lot. In the back corner of the lot, there were several different sizes of tractor tires. And the trainer would have these guys flip the tires across the parking lot. These guys would do it and scream like babies as they flipped the tires. I would always watch in awe, thinking it looked really difficult and awesome all at the same time....wanting to try to flip tractor tires.

Because training last week was moved to Tuesday, I had my session in a different location. And guess what J had....a tractor tire. I don't think I've ever been as excited to work out before! 9 years ago I was just watching these big muscled men flip these tires thinking it would be cool to try one day....then 9 years later I'm flipping them myself :) I was finally able to cross one of the oldest goals off my list last week. And I cried when I drew that line through that phrase on that piece of paper. It sounds stupid, I know, but it happened.

But I will tell you what. That moment of flipping that tire 20-something times was one of the best feelings I have ever felt. I felt empowered. I felt strong. I felt like I could take on the world. I felt like one of those big-muscled guys that I would watch out the fitness center window, screaming like a baby. Except I didn't scream. It felt too good to scream (plus, I didn't find it that heavy, actually. I already asked J if he has a bigger/heavier tractor tire to flip). Is this what self-confidence feels like? Because I've really never felt anything like it before. The next day, I felt great. I had a feel-good soreness going on and that feeling of empowerment just hung on and stayed with me for several days after that training session. It made me want to work harder and lift heavier and push myself even more. It gave me motivation...like I said, I already asked J if he has a heavier tire to flip. The thought of adding weight to barbell back squats sounds exciting to me. This feeling is just so new and strange. But I like it. And I want more of it. So I'm having my training session today instead of tomorrow (maybe tomorrow, too...we'll see) so I can go back to J's and flip tires again....I'm just so excited! And I can't wait until I look on the outside how I feel on the inside. It's just more motivation to work harder and accomplish more :)

No comments:

Post a Comment